Log in

Windows on the Past

Located in Heritage Park, this colorful mural is composed of historic and contemporary photos from ethnic and cultural groups who lived in the Walla Walla Valley from 1850-1950. They are reproduced in porcelain enamel on steel panels and inlaid on the historic façade of Henry Osterman's 1902 Odd Fellows' Temple.  

The Art Director and production artist is Walla Walla artist Jeanne McMenemy. The Research interns, including students from Whitman College and Walla Walla University have assisted with research and photo procurement. This project was made possible by many individual, local, regional, and national grantors. For a list of its sponsors click here. The panels were installed by the Walla Walla Foundry.  

The "Windows on the Past" online tour is divided into three sections below: the left panel, center panel, and right panel. Each has its own "story map" slide show, with images on the left and information on the right. Click on each panel below to begin the tour:



The 1902 Odd Fellows' Temple was the first major public building designed by architect Henry Osterman, who later desinged Green Park school, the County Courthouse, the Liberty Theater, and other Walla Walla buildings. Osterman's signature Dutch reformist style is evident in these buildings. 

In 1993, when the temple was torn down, the hand-carved sandstone façade was dismantled stone by stone and each stone was numbered to facilitate proper reassembly. The Blue Mountain Arts Alliance (now ArtWalla) relocated the façade to Heritage park on Main Street. 

This $70,000 project was underwritten by Baker Boyer Bank. Many individuals and organizations, led by project manager Rob Robinson, contributed to the project. Their names are on a plaque next to the façade. 

The local and state Odd Fellows chapters also supported the project. During reconstruction of the façade, they asked us to correct a mistake made in 1902 - the mason had installed their three-ring logo stone upside- down!


Jeanne McMenemy, Art Direction and Digital Production
Jeana Garske, Director, ArtWalla
Rob Robinson, President, ArtWalla
Hans Matschukat, Photographer
WinsorFireform, Panel Production
Walla Walla Foundry, Installation


Mark A. Anderson

John Chess

Dan Clark

Steve Clark

Barb Commare

Julia Davis

Jim Dumont

Tricia Harding

Bob Irvine

Judith Johnson

Robert Keatts

Sarah Koenigsberg

Karen Lavender

Susan Levenson

Melinda Miller

Jess Nowland

Tom Olander

Doug Saturno

Laura Schulz

Cynthia Selde

Joyce Thomsen-Blake

Vicki Shafer

Kathy Weingart

Research Interns:

Erik Anderson

Kirsten Archer

Dave Blanchard

Shae Healey

Whitney Heyvaert

Sylvia Imbrock

Becky Nelson

Stephanie Silver

Kristen Wilson

Major Funding Provided By:

Donald & Virginia Sherwood Trust

Washington State Arts Commission

The National Endowment for the Arts

Mary Garner Esary Trust

Opp & Seibold General Construction, Inc.


Walla Walla Electric

Walla Walla Foundry

George T. Welch Testamentary Trust

Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Kinsman Foundation

Stubblefield Trust

U.S. Bancorp

Key Technology

Blue Mountain Community Foundation

Whitman College

Walla Walla University 

Contact us at

130 Rose Street #102

PO Box 2192

Walla Walla, WA 99362

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software